
Wages
All employees including those under the age of eighteen engaged in the first processing of farm products 
occupations within the State of New Jersey shall be paid at minimum wage rates of not less than $13.00 an 
hour effective January 1, 2022.

New Jersey Wage and Hour Law Governing Employment in

First Processing of Farm Product Occupations
Order No.1

Overtime Rates
Overtime at one and one-half times the regular 
hourly wage rate shall be paid for all hours 
worked in excess of 40 in a week except during 
the following exempt periods:
For 10 weeks, one and one-half the regular hourly 
wage rate shall be paid for all hours worked in excess 
of 48 in a week and all hours worked in excess of 10 
in a day. For 10 weeks, one and one-half the regular 
hourly wage rate shall be paid for all hours worked in 
excess of 50 in a week and all hours worked in excess 
of 10 in a day. The weeks in which these modifications 
are applicable shall be determined by the employer 
and records kept to indicate exempt weeks. Overtime 
provisions shall not include any persons employed in 
a bona fide executive, administrative or professional 
capacity.

Hours of Work for Minors
Minors under 18 may not work more than 8 hours per day 
and 40 hours per week under the provisions of the Child 
Labor Law.

Definitions
The term “Regular hourly wage” shall mean the 
amount that an employee is regularly paid for each 
hour of work as determined by dividing the total hours 
of work during the week into the employee’s total 
earnings for the week, exclusive of overtime premium 
pay.

The term “First processing of farm products 
occupations” shall mean any activity as an employee 

in an establishment which is in an industry engaged 
primarily in the first processing of farm products during 
seasonal operations.

The term “Industry engaged primarily in first 
processing of farm products” shall mean an 
establishment which is primarily engaged in the first 
processing of, or in canning or packing, perishable 
or seasonal fresh fruit or vegetables for human 
consumption, during seasonal operations.

Penalties
Any employer who violates any provisions of this act 
shall be guilty of a disorderly persons offense and 
upon conviction shall be punished by a fine of not less 
than $100 nor more than $1,000.

As an alternative to or in addition to any other 
sanctions provided by law for violations, the 
Commissioner is authorized to assess and collect 
administrative penalties, up to a maximum of $250 for 
a first violation and up to a maximum of $500 for each 
subsequent violation.

The employer shall also pay the Commissioner an 
administrative fee equal to not less than 10% or more 
than 25% of any payment due to employees.

Penalties for violation of this order are provided for by 
N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a22.

Effective Date
New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law – Order No. 
1 promulgated under the provision of N.J.S.A. 34:11-
56a et seq. became effective June 2, 1967, and 
subsequently as amended at N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4.
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